Home Countries The WRC Safari Rally Kenya 2021, Participant Countries, History, Past Winners

The WRC Safari Rally Kenya 2021, Participant Countries, History, Past Winners

WRC Safari Rally 2021


The WRC was inaugurated in 1973 and is the world’s most eminent level of competition in motorsport rallying. This year, 2021, the Safari Rally Kenya returned to the FIA WRC after a nineteen-year hiatus. An array of world motorsport cars were put to the test between 24th and 27th June. They raced in a 320.9km stretch of rocky terrain, unpredictable weather changes, humidity, and rainfall demands. 

WRC Safari Rally Participant Countries

The WRC Safari Rally was a highly anticipated event whose entry list had fifty-four participant nations approved by the FIA. The countries represented were:

  1. France
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Belgium
  4. Estonia
  5. Finland
  6. Japan
  7. Spain
  8. Ireland
  9. Sweden
  10. Italy
  11. Czechia
  12. Kenya
  13. Zimbabwe
  14. Poland
  15. Uganda

Safari Rally History

The Safari Rally has its roots in Queen Elizabeth II’s coronation in 1953 which stretched among the three East African countries. It was at that time named the East African Coronation Safari. Seven years later, it was renamed the East African Safari Rally, and has since 1974 been known as the Safari Rally. 

Safari Rally Past Winners

The sport has attracted participants from all over the world who aim to tackle the African terrain. this is attributed to its unforgiving nature and enthralling experience. In 1953, Dix Alan and co-driver Larsen Johnny won the first East African Coronation Rally. The winners in the past decade are noted below:

2009 Carl Tundo
2010 Lee Rose
2011 Carl Tundo
2012 Carl Tundo
2013 Baldev Chager
2014 Baldev Chager
2015 Singh Chatthe Jaspreet
2016 Singh Chatthe Jaspreet
2017 Tapio Laukkanen
2018 Carl Tundo
2019 Carl Tundo
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19

ReadSébastien Ogier Biography, Net Worth, Family, Wife, Rally Career

2021 WRC Safari Rally Preparations


The government deployed a multi-agency security team comprising of the National Police Service,  National Youth Service,  Kenya Wildlife Service, and safety marshals who will be in charge of ensuring 24/7 security of the public, the media, and competitors throughout the period. The Inspector-General NPS also stated in a press release that immediate and decisive action would be taken against anyone found contravening the Ministry of Health’s prescribed Covid-19 containment protocols. 

Transport and Road-Access

Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Interior and Co-ordination of National Government, Fred Matiang’i also informed the public of temporary closure of certain public roads to vehicles of three tonnes and over to ensure the success of the event. The roads closed between midnight and 7:00 PM were:

Eldoret-Nakuru Highway (24/6/2021 at Eldoret)

Kericho-Nakuru Highway (25/6/2021 at Kericho)

Nyahururu-Nakuru Highway (26/6/2021 at Nyahururu)

Mombasa-Nairobi-Mai Mahiu-Naivasha Highway (27/6/2021 at Mlolongo)

Narok-Mai Mahiu Highway (at Suswa)

Additionally, for the successful undertaking of the event, the Kikopey-Elementaita Village Road was closed to all users on Friday 25/6/2021 and Saturday 27/6/2021 between 2:00 PM and 6:00 PM.

Talk to us

Thanks for reading our article. Got comments or opinions about our journalism? Please send us a WhatsApp message on [closed]